Our Family

Customs House Waterfront Hotel, built in 1846, has been owned by the Jubb family since 1992. The Jubb’s are 5th generation hoteliers with owners Paul and Karen managing the hotel alongside their children Robert and Emily.

Located 2 minutes walk from the Salamanca Markets, Brooke St Pier, Constitution Dock, Pennicott’s Tours, the ferry to MONA Museum and Hobart’s shopping precinct, we have the perfect location for your Waterfront getaway in Hobart.

Customs House Hotel is an icon in Hobart. Built in 1846 for one of the early settlers, Charles Gaylor, whose name is set in stone above the main bar entry, it was named after Customs House (now Parliament House) next door. Affectionately called the “Chop House” it was, and still is, known for a good meal and a soothing ale.

We offer 30 warm and charming accommodation rooms upstairs. All recently renovated with new bathrooms and furnishings, the rooms offer a touch of modern in a historic setting. Our experienced team pride ourselves on being able to offer great service and make every stay feel like a visit with friends. We offer a wide range of different room types, from Standard Rooms, right through to beautifully designed Waterfront Superior rooms with balconies facing the waterfront.

As well as our gorgeous accommodation we also have an award winning Restaurant, Derwent Bar and Vue function room. Both our bar and restaurant have iconic views over the water and showcase the best local seafood Hobart has on offer. With our roots firmly planted in Hobart we make every effort to use only the best and freshest home-grown produce.